Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of Zambia is the final Court of appeal and it has such jurisdiction and powers as conferred on it by the Constitution and any other law, as outlined in Article 92 of the Constitution. Unlike in other jurisdictions, the Supreme Court of Zambia has the final say in all matters, including the interpretation of the Constitution.

The Supreme Court of Zambia consists of:

  • The Chief Justice;
  • The Deputy Chief Justice;
  • Seven Supreme Court Judges or such greater number as may be prescribed by an Act of parliament

Judiciary Headquaters

The Judiciary of Zambia Headquarters is situated at plot no. 438, Independence Avenue, Lusaka 10101


It is constituted by various buildings including;


Supreme Court Building - The Chief Justice's Chambers, Supreme Court Judges' Chambers, Supreme Court 1 & 2, Chief Administrators Office, Chamber for the Registrar of the High Court and Offices for other senior Management Officers




High Court Building - High Court Judge-in-Charge's Chambers, 8 High Court Rooms, High Court Judge's Chambers, Offices for some Deputy Directors' and Various Registries.


Chikwa Buildings - Chambers for the  Judge-in-Charge (Commercial), Commercial Court, Chambers for High Court Judges (Commercial), Mediation office and part of Accounts Offices.


New Wing (Former National Housing Authority Building) - Offices for Deputy Directors & Other Senior Management officers, Part of Accounts,Offices for Research Advocates and other members of Staff